A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Main campus

The area formerly known as the main campus now comprises the North District and the Central District. The campus west of Iowa Street is referred to as the West District.

Marketing Communications

Not Office of Marketing Communications or MarComm. Marketing Communications is a division of KU's Office of Public Affairs.

Marshall scholarships, Marshall scholars

Marshall scholarships are administered in the United Kingdom by the Marshall Aid Commemoration Committee and in the United States by the British Embassy in Washington, D.C., and five regional consulates-general. 

master's degree

See academic degrees

McCarthy Hall

University-owned apartments for men, many of them student athletes, south of Allen Fieldhouse on Naismith Drive. It opened in fall 2015.

McCollum Hall

Former residence hall for women and men closed in August 2015 after two new, smaller halls on Daisy Hill opened. It was razed in November 2015 and a parking lot established on the site.

Measurement, Materials & Sustainable Environment Center (M2SEC)

An engineering research center in the Central District. May be referred to on first reference as M2SEC as long as the full name of the building appears later.

Medical Center, KU

See KU Medical Center

Medicine, School of

One of three schools based at KU Medical Center in Kansas City, Kansas. The others are Health Professions and Nursing. Do not refer to the medical center or the total program offered there as the medical school. Branches of the School of Medicine operate in Salina and Wichita.
See also KU Medical Center.

Medicine-Salina, School of

A community-based branch of the School of Medicine at 400 South Santa Fe, Salina, KS 67401. 

Medicine-Wichita, School of

A community-based branch of the School of Medicine at 1010 N. Kansas, Wichita, KS 67214. 

Mellon fellowships, Mellon fellows

Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships in Humanistic Studies are funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. 

Memorial Campanile

On second reference, campanile. It contains a musical instrument called a carillon. The person who plays the carillon is a carillonneur. The bell tower, built as a memorial to KU's World War II dead, was dedicated in 1951. (pronounced camp-uh-NEE-lee)

Memorial Stadium

Do not use, except on second reference to David Booth Kansas Memorial Stadium.

Miller Hall

Women's scholarship hall. 

Mitchell scholarships, Mitchell scholars

George J. Mitchell scholarships are administered by the U.S.-Ireland Alliance. 

Mount Oread

Do not abbreviate Mount. Also known as the Hill. 

Mr., Mrs., Ms., Miss

Use Mr., Mrs., Ms., and Miss only in direct quotes.

Mrs. E's

The official name of the Daisy Hill facility is Ekdahl Dining Center. 

Multicultural Affairs, Office of

Formerly the Office of Minority Affairs. See also Sabatini Multicultural Resource Center. 


Natural History Museum & Biodiversity Institute
In Dyche Hall.

Spencer Museum of Art
On second reference, art museum.

Wilcox Classical Museum
In Lippincott Hall. 

Music, School of

The School of Music was formed in summer 2009 after a reorganization of KU's fine arts programs.